Room echo with brick wall

Trophykage

Trophykage

Audioholic Intern
Hello, so I am having issues in regards to my room acoustics. I have finally gone through and setup everything and am having issues with bad echo from a cutout fireplace brick area. I will list some photos and room measurements below. I am looking for some advice on how I could potentially reduce or eliminate the echo from this space. I unfortunately don't really have any other options throughout the house to relocate. I do not plan on staying in this house as I will be moving in a couple years after finishing school, so preferably no permanent changes are an option. I was potentially thinking about doing some acoustic paneling on the interior brick area or a curtain on the exterior opening that can be opened when I do want to utilize the fireplace or a combination of both. Excuse my ignorance as I am pretty new in the AV world and have been doing a bunch of research into the topic, so any advice or product ideas would be much appreciated. Also, Excuse the mess! :D

IMG_0623.jpeg
IMG_0625.jpeg
IMG_0626.jpeg
IMG_0627.jpeg

A

ASCTim

Audiophyte
Anything to break up that flat surface of bricks should help reduce the echo. Acoustic panels on either side of the stove would definitely help. A heavy curtain across the opening would also cut down on that echo.

Trophykage

Trophykage

Audioholic Intern
Anything to break up that flat surface of bricks should help reduce the echo. Acoustic panels on either side of the stove would definitely help. A heavy curtain across the opening would also cut down on that echo.
Thank you for the response. I also went ahead and ordered a UMIK to do some testing and see if I can better optimize my placement. Plan on getting a second sub later this month to help with bass. I will look into some paneling.

Pogre

Pogre

Audioholic Slumlord
When I saw the first pic I thought you had your main speakers inside the cutout on either side of the fireplace. :eek: