Relatively New, What now!?

Autofac

Autofac

Enthusiast
To this whole thing.

Came on here looking for opinions, answers, ideas, the usual.

I started last Christmas by buying a few things to start building a home theatre. I realize that what I have brought together thus far is, by most standards pretty lame but having no prior experience or great exposure to home theatre, it works well for me and it took a lot of hard earned money so I am proud.

I bought a JVC reciever last christmas, it was on for a really good price at a local place, and was reccomended by a few friends of mine who said it was decent for the money.

My speakers are really the worst part, I also got those on sale (I am a first year university student in the second most expensive University in Canada, money is a huge factor in all of this). Currently I only have four speakers, quite embarassing, but I didn't have enough time or money to invest into anything else to complete it all once school started. I have two Quest tower speakers, and a pair of Quest bookshelves. As I said, pretty low-end stuff from what I hear, but quality wise they don't sound too bad to me.

I am buying a center channel speaker sometime over the break with a gift card I recieved for my birthday. I still need a sub, but I think what I am going to do is wait until the new year when I have banked a bit more money and invest it into a really nice subwoofer and use that piece as my sort of "cornerstone" into a newer and nicer set of speakers when money allows.

I just kind of find myself asking at this point, where do I go from here? What sort of things should I be looking for to fine tune what I already have further? Are higher quality cables something I should focus on, something that would improve upon what I already have (assuming I use basic wiring)? Anything I should do to the room I am using to improve sound quality?