Reciever Recommendations

M

mtbiker

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>hello,
&nbsp;Could you all recommend a good Reciever for around 300 to 350? &nbsp;Starting to build my home theater. &nbsp;I'm a little new at this so please bear with them through all my questions.</font>

P

pds

Enthusiast
<font color='#000000'>You can get a Panasonic SA-HE200 receiver from J&amp;R Music for $350.00, maybe even cheaper elsewhere.  It has 130 watts/channel times 6 and all the bells and whistles that you will need for some time.  It is probably the biggest bang for your buck out there. Panasonic makes reliable equipment and you should be more than pleased with the performance.</font>

E

Eric

Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>The ones I like at this price are:

Onkyo TX-SR501, Sony STR-DE695 and Denon AVR-1603.

Of the three the Sony has the most power (90W). The other specs are about equal (THD: 0.08% (0.09% Sony), freq. resp.: 20-20k Hz). The Panny has the highest THD (0.9%) and lowest freq. resp. (40-20k Hz). Check the surround modes on these three and (for me) the Sony wins.

The warranty should be looked at too. The panny has a 1 year and all the others are 2 years.</font>

gene

gene

Audioholics Master Chief
Administrator
<font color='#000000'>Eric/All;

Just a point of clarification, just because Receiver A rates frequency response and THD differently than Receiver B, doesn't necessarily mean one is better than the other.

It is often the case that lower end receivers are rated only down to 40Hz to give the illusion of higher power.  The same applies for THD ratings.  Receiver A may publish higher THD ratings than Receiver B for identical amps!  This would make Receiver A's amps appear more powerful to unknowing consumers.

BTW, stay tuned for our review of the Onkyo TX-SR601 A/V receiver.</font>

Khellandros66

Khellandros66

Banned