Receiver/Speaker matching: Will this work/are there any major issues?

C

Currior

Audiophyte
Hello, relative newbie here. I currently own a Sony STRDN1060 receiver. After my own research (and some auditioning) I've decided to go with Polk speakers, so now I want to know if I've matched everything correctly and if everything should work properly with my receiver.

The panel on the back of the STRDN1060 instructs me to use speakers with a 6-16 Ohm impedance. So what I'm thinking for 5.1 sound is:

Center: Polk Audio CS20 Center Channel Speaker

Front: 2 x Polk Audio Monitor-65T

Rear: 2 x Polk Audio RTI A1

Subwoofer: Polk Audio PSW10

Will all of this work with the receiver? Is anything terribly mismatched? Have I missed any considerations?

I thank you in advance!

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Receiver and speaker matching is petty much a construct of marketing and wishful thinking.

As long as your speakers have adequate clean power to drive them, your speakers contribute 99.9 percent of the final result.

You've got more than enough power to get the best these speakers can deliver.

This does presume that all your speakers fall within that 6 - 16 ohm requirement.

C

Currior

Audiophyte
Thanks - I think you've give me what I need to know. :)

As far as matching goes, I really meant, have I done something obviously wrong like select rear speakers that are woefully underpowered compared to the front speakers.

And as for the receiver/speaker thing, I wanted to be sure I hadn't selected speakers that the receiver couldn't drive, which you've answered.

I'm going to see if I can go audition everything together and then take the plunge. Speakers are all in that 6-16 range.

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord