Receiver Preout, Integrated Amps & RCA cabling

M

Mayo2dockside

Enthusiast
Hey Guys,

Newbie here, hopefully I can get some answers . I have a few questions and hopefully they make sense.

1, if I use the preouts on the back of my Marantz receiver can I still use the speaker terminals?

2, on the integrated Amps should I set the volume at 50% and control the volume via the receiver control?

3, on my Centre Channel preout I only have 1 RCA output but want to run 2 Integrated amps from this. To 2 centre speakers, 1 at ear height and 1 at high level. Can I come out of the preout on an RCA male to 2 female and then from each of the females add an addition male to 2 males on each to biamp my centre channels? I hope this makes sense. Albeit the receiver only has a single out put I’m hoping to split this 2 4 RCA males, 2 into 1 Integrated amps and and 2 to another (splitting the signal) then I hope to be able to power the high and low frequencies of the centre channels from there respective amps

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

M

Mayo2dockside

Enthusiast
What are you trying to accomplish?
I’m hoping to setup an Auro 3D setup in the long run. I have an Atmos/DTS X receiver (Marantz SR7011) and am building my system over a period of time. I can at present create a 7.2.4 system I want to add a High L/R/C channels, S/R&L and R/S R&L but am trying to use preouts to Integrated amps so I can BiAmp the speakers that are capable.

Last edited:
ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
Usually no harm comes from bi-amping, other than your budget. But it is generally regarded that passive bi-amping, if there is a measurable change in sound, isn’t audible to most. You are much better off just amping your speakers with good clean power adequate enough to provide yourself some good headroom for dynamic peaks in the programming you enjoy. :)

ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord