crashguy

crashguy

Audioholic
Is it just me, or are there some companies out there in audioland that rate their products such that they break every law of physics there is to be broken.

Seriously though. A powered sub rated at 2600w peak?? Gimmie a break!! Not unless you have it plugged in to a 20A circuit breaker in your home. The most power available out of a 15A breaker is 15A X 120V = about 1800w. This assumes you actually HAVE 120V, not 108V or 111V, coming out of the wall; and it also assumes that there is no other plugs wired into that circuit drawing power. 15A is 15A is 15A. No way around that. Now, I'm no electrician, but if the breaker trips if more than 15A is drawn through it, that's all you're going to get folks!

Now I would like to start this paragraph off with a qualifier. I like Harmon/Kardon products. I think they are quality pieces as I have stated on this forum in the past. But can someone tell me where they come up with suggesting that their recievers can deliver 55 amps of "peak current." I'm sure they don't mean to suggest that their receivers can manufacter power in excess of 40A. :confused:

I don't get it. There must be some technical electrical engineering way to make these claims make sense. HOWEVER, the impression it leaves with the consumer is that the amp can put out 55A of current. Correct me if I'm wrong here, but this sounds to me to be impossible.

Why post this thread? Because I think these forums are for educating each other about our hobby. Lets face it, most of us here are the people our friends come to when they have money burning a hole in their pocket for audio or home theater gear. We should know what we are tallking about.

By the way, if I don't know what I'm talking about, feel free to educate me.

I feel better.....

crashguy

crashguy

Audioholic
I guess I should have posted this in "The Steam Vent."

See, I'm continuing my education.....

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord