Questions about being a pro installer?

U

Unregistered

I have recent interest in starting an installation company but have many questions before I jump out and do it. First off what certifications are recomended to start off. If any where do I get certified. Second, do i have to have some type of liscence to do this. Third, how much insurance do i need and how much does it cost. I have no profesional experience installing but have done a lot of for myself and friends. Last but not least, I love Monster Cable but dont know how or where to get a wholesale connection for all of it. I currently work for Best Buy and am trying to bite my own piece of the expensive install world off. Any info you can provide me with will be greatly appreciated.

Thanx Lone Star Staten
p.s. I live in Texas if it makes any difference.

JohnA

JohnA

Audioholic Chief
Good luck

There are a few things you need to know first.

1: decide what type of company you are going to have (i.e. LLC, etc...)

2: Check local and state laws about LV (low voltage) license, some require it, some don't. If you are doing any HV (High Voltage, i.e. regular electrical, adding a power outlet, a dedicated ground, etc... you MUST have a license!

3: You MUST have insurance, liability, and be bonded.

4: Because you said "I have no professional experience installing" you would be better off working for a company for a few years and then start your own biz.

5: To start a biz, contact your local government offices and they can get you started on the right course.

6: IT IS HARD WORK, it is not like installing for friends or family. You can be sued for faulty work, breach of contract, etc....and depending on what type of company you have, your personal items could be up for grabs (house, car, A/V gear).

7: Because you said "I have no professional experience installing" don't think that you are the man (reality check), get some real world experience.