Question about ventilation

J

jah732

Audiophyte
Sorry for the cross-posting, but I would like a few more opinions before I proceed.

I am a newbie to home theatre, and have a question about ventilation. I have just purchased a Yamaha RX-V750 receiver (too much power for me but I needed phono inputs and wanted a Yamaha). It says I should give it 30cm of space above it, and 30cm of space to either side. I was planning to put in into my entertainment centre, but there is no way there will be 30 cm of space on either side (I can probably swing the 30cm above). The centre is vented at the back, although with fairly small holes. If I keep the door open when I use the receiver, will this be okay or will it overheat because of the lack of space to either side?

The receiver has a grill on top but I did not see any ventilation holes/grills at the sides. Another advice document suggest 4-8" above and at least 1" to either side. Would this suffice? A reply I received in the Beginners forum suggested I would probably be okay

I need to keep my electronics, when not in use, in an enclosed cabinet for the simple reason that my house is both dusty and furry (cats).

Thanks

Yamahaluver

Yamahaluver

Audioholic General
Dont sweat it, get yourself a fan from Rat Shack or better yet, the Panasonic ones from Parts Express and on really hot days, when you are pushing your amp, just run it over the transformer and capacitors and you will never have any problem. I have run my DSP-AZ1 as well as the newer Z-9 like this and never had any reliability issues whatsoever.

audioman00

Audioholic
don't worry be happy!

Don't worry, this unit has a thermanl shutdown anyway. If it gets too hot it will shut down. I also think by educated guess you will be able to give the unit ample ventilation. 30cm above should be fine, but i would leave the door open. -audioman00

J

jah732

Audiophyte
thanks for the reassurances