Putting together a new system

D

dseng

Enthusiast
Hi folks,

I'm a raw beginner, but I've learned a lot so far from this site and the forums. I've just ordered a Yamaha RX-V659 and have a pair of Klipsch RB-15 bookshelf speakers. As I slowly acquire the rest of the speakers to complete our HT, how important will it be to keep the speakers "coordinated" from a sound perspective?

I'm thinking about a HSU STF 2 for the subwoofer. We have a fairly large room (~ 2875 cu ft), but we very rarely turn the volume up very high on either music or movies. Will want to add a center speaker and two surrounds, but I'm not quite sure what will match up well with what we already have. I'd like to keep my speaker costs for the sub, center and surrounds around $1000. Would I be better off trying to stay with Klipsch (soundwise) or can I mix and match fairly easily?

Thanks,
Dave

mtrycrafts

mtrycrafts

Seriously, I have no life.
dseng said:
Hi folks,
I'm a raw beginner, but I've learned a lot so far from this site and the forums. I've just ordered a Yamaha RX-V659 and have a pair of Klipsch RB-15 bookshelf speakers. As I slowly acquire the rest of the speakers to complete our HT, how important will it be to keep the speakers "coordinated" from a sound perspective?
I'm thinking about a HSU STF 2 for the subwoofer. We have a fairly large room (~ 2875 cu ft), but we very rarely turn the volume up very high on either music or movies. Will want to add a center speaker and two surrounds, but I'm not quite sure what will match up well with what we already have. I'd like to keep my speaker costs for the sub, center and surrounds around $1000. Would I be better off trying to stay with Klipsch (soundwise) or can I mix and match fairly easily? Thanks,
Dave
I would strongly recommend that you try to place another one of those speakers, RB15 as your center if you can do it space wise. That will give you a great front soundstage.