Polk 10A monitors! I am new. helpp!

McGarvey

McGarvey

Audiophyte
Hello, fellow audio crazies. I am new to this whole vintage speaker thing as I just discovered the speakers my brother gave me about 8-10 years back are Polk Audio 10a's which seem to be in decent condition. They have been in the attic for many years... I don't know where to start. I have a Onkyo HT-R330 AV Receiver and a USB audio interface connected to my Pc for my studio monitor speakers. any advice would be greatly appreciated. I just don't want to mess anything up and Im unsure if this receiver is even something that should be powering these polks or not. I am not a complete noob , but l am a bit GREEN when it comes to speaker specs and crossovers..well I suppose Vintage is all new to me . o_O;)

-Jim-

-Jim-

Audioholic General
Hi McGarvey,

Welcome to the forum. These are the Specifications for the Polk Audio 10a speakers:

Specs:
Driver Complement--
Tweeter
Quantity 1
Diameter 1" (2.54cm)
Type Polk SL1000
Midrange
Quantity 2
Diameter 6 1/2" (16.51cm)
Subwoofer
Quantity 1
Diameter 10" (25.40cm)
Type sub bass radiator

Total Frequency Response 25Hz - 25kHz
Upper -3dB Limit 25 kHz
Lower -3dB Limit 37 Hz

Nominal Impedance 8 ohms

Efficiency 89 dB

Recommended Amplifier Power 20-250 watts per channel

Cabinet Dimensions
Height 28" (71.12cm)
Width 15" (38.10cm)
Depth 12" (30.48cm)

You can get data on the reciever here Onkyo HT-R330 Receiver

It looks like it was originally supplied as part of a Home Theater Package. It's got decent power => 100 watts per channel min. RMS at 8 Ω, 2 channels driven from 1 kHz with no more than 0.9% total harmonic distortion. So it should handle those Polks no problem => just make certain the cables are connected correctly (Red to Red / Black to Black) to keep the speakers "in Phase" or your bass response will suffer. Make certain the volume is turned down to minimum before turning on the receiver.