Please help with subwoofer issue

R

RUBngSrvd

Audiophyte
I am a total newbie to HT settings, please bear with me.
My current setup was Polk Audio RM7300 speakers with a powered subwoofer (PSW300), and a Sherwood RVD-8090R Receiver.

Recently ordered the Onkyo HT-S580 system with the R330 receiver. This came with a passive subwoofer (SKW-330).

I have the following concerns:

a) Unless I am setting it up incorrectly, I find that the sound from my Polk Audio speakers is far better. The Polk speakers are at least 5 years old.

b) The Onkyo receiver being designed for the passive subwoofer, I am not sure if I could introduce the Polk Audio powered subwoofer without problems.

c) I do not know anything about the crossover settings required during the initial setup of the Onkyo receiver. At this point I would prefer to keep my existing Polk Audio speakers with the Onkyo receiver.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. TIA

Last edited:
mulester7

mulester7

Audioholic Samurai
RUBngSrvd said:
I am a total newbie to HT settings, please bear with me.
My current setup was Polk Audio RM7300 speakers with a powered subwoofer (PSW300), and a Sherwood RVD-8090R Receiver.

Recently ordered the Onkyo HT-S580 system with the R330 receiver. This came with a passive subwoofer (SKW-330).

I have the following concerns:

a) Unless I am setting it up incorrectly, I find that the sound from my Polk Audio speakers is far better. The Polk speakers are at least 5 years old.

b) The Onkyo receiver being designed for the passive subwoofer, I am not sure if I could introduce the Polk Audio powered subwoofer without problems.

c) I do not know anything about the crossover settings required during the initial setup of the Onkyo receiver. At this point I would prefer to keep my existing Polk Audio speakers with the Onkyo receiver.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. TIA