Paradigm Monitor 5 vs. Monitor 3; any users who can compare?

corysmith01

corysmith01

Senior Audioholic
I'm still a relative newbie to audio so I'm posting here to make sure that I'm not making a big mistake.

I recently got into audio with the help of posters here at Audioholics. I started with a pair of B&W DM601 s3's right off the bat...perhaps a rushed decision, but I wanted something dangit and you can certainly do worse. At any rate, I don't have them any more...long story short, I had a friend in a financial crisis and had to return all of my speakers (601's and LCR60) to help out. Thank goodness for 30 day return policies. That has since passed and I've been able to sort of start over with a clean slate and use all the knowledge I've obtained since buying the 601's. I always, to some degree, wondered "what if" after buying my B&W's. Reason being; I had also demo'd some Paradigm mini monitors and was blown away.

Lets cut to the chase. I ended up pulling the trigger on Paradigm's this time, thinking back to my "what if" notions. I ended up getting the CC 370 and a pair of Monitor 5's. They all arrived today. Then began the trouble, sort of. Thing is, the monitor 5's seem much bigger in my little living room as compared to the huge audition room at the store. My solution? I'm thinking about exchanging them and going down a notch to the Monitor 3's. Could anyone speak to the ramifications of this consideration? Both get glowing reviews. They're very close in sensitivity and frequency response. They're seems to be a lot of similarities...except for their driver set up. The 5's are a 3 way design with dual 6.5's, while the 3's are a 2 way design with a single 8" set up. Does this create a huge difference? Has anyone compared these models side by side? Space is a huge concern for me, but I don't really want to sacrifice sound. Any input is greatly appreciated.

D

dloweman

Audioholic