Optimizing with REW

D

depechefan

Audioholic
Hi all,

Please bear with me... This is my very first attempt at measuring with REW so I don't really know what I'm doing. Based on some feedback in another thread I wanted to know more about what is going on with sound in my room and especially bass performance. So I've done a few measurements with the UMIK-1 microphone in my listening position. I tried from 0 to 80 Hz with phase set to 0 and 90 to begin with. Looks to me like 90 is a little better. I don't seem to get much bass below 25 Hz which is a little disappointing.

The other graph shows response from 10 to 20 KHz. I don't know if the big drop after 80 Hz is because I increased bass level because it wasn't quite punchy enough... It certainly looks a little unbalanced.

Would love some advice for sure!

/M

Attachments

D

depechefan

Audioholic
Btw: This must be with Audyssey and Dynamic EQ turned on. Not sure if that is the correct way to measure?

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai
Measuring with Audyssey is okay, but a separate measurement without it would give you a “before and after” comparison to show what exactly it did. Don’t think I’d use dynamic EQ for measurements.

A subwoofer graph would be more useful if you run it up to about 200 Hz instead of stopping at 80 Hz.

How low a sub plays is dependent on the sub’s capabilities and placement in the room. I’ve seen 18” subs that should have been putting out well below 20 Hz that were “done” at 40 Hz, simply because of poor placement in the room.

It’s actually not a bad looking full-range graph. A bit more in the 100-250 Hz range would probably sound better.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

D

depechefan

Audioholic
I'm glad that you think the full-range graph looks good :) I've spent a good amount of time and money on the system. The sub supposedly is capable of 20 Hz: https://www.monitoraudio.com/en/product-ranges/silver/silver-w-12/