"OMFG, Krypto is getting a mic finally!"

K

kryptonitewhite

Audioholic Intern
I can not post links until I have 5 posts, so I will rack them up so I can link vids and pics

K

kryptonitewhite

Audioholic Intern
Scott Simonian from AVS sent me his mic and ordered me some cables from Parts Express.

K

kryptonitewhite

Audioholic Intern
I have REW downloaded and installed as well as the mic correction files, but I am a novice and complete nooB at mic/REW/measurement so we are just getting started at setting me up.

K

kryptonitewhite

Audioholic Intern
I ran an SPL test at 14Hz and 18Hz so far, it may be a day or two before I get a good FR responce curve measurement.

K

kryptonitewhite

Audioholic Intern
Here are the vids and pics copy/pasted from AVS to show the initial SPL tests just getting to know the mic.

K

kryptonitewhite

Audioholic Intern
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1320236

The mic and cables from Scott:

at :59 that crash you hear is my girlfriends Christmas Globe falling from a shelf and shattering. My nuts are now in a vise. THANK YOU SO MUCH SCOTT SIMONIAN FOR THE MIC AND CABLES! I hope I pronounced your name right!!! The noise you hear while bursting is things rattling/squeeling throughout the house, never bottomed out drivers are clean and clear.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Z2ZeC43rkQM

This is from the 33-2050 cal.

so at 14hz youre down about 23db.

You'll want to aim the mic straight up. You can provide sound output to your receiver via hdmi, however the cables are to hook up your mic to your PC's sound card input.

10.0 -37.20
11.2 -32.88
12.5 -27.15
14.0 -23.29
16.0 -20.63
18.0 -18.69
20.0 -17.04
22.4 -15.40
25.0 -13.69
28.0 -11.99
31.5 -10.44
35.5 -9.08
40.0 -7.97
45.0 -6.99
50.0 -6.09
56.0 -5.39
63.0 -4.84
71.0 -4.29
80.0 -3.76
90.0 -3.25
100.0 -2.93
so I connect the mic RCA out to the Y splitter, to the 25' RCAs, to the other Y splitter with the jack, to Line In on PC?

117dB uncorrected at 18Hz, 135dB!