Old Aiwa audio system worth keeping or not?

P

paulasp

Audiophyte
Hi,

I have an old Aiwa NSX-V50 600W PMPO audio system lying around in my house and Aux is the only input that still works in the system through the Mic input. CD, Tape and Radio features don't work anymore. The speakers still work just fine but they're passive speakers I believe.Hearing music while playing through Aux isn't that great because of reduced quality from Karoake mixing feature.

Please tell me is it still worth keeping this audio system or should I sell it and buy something new? Is it possible to give new life to the speakers if I can connect it to something else? I'm a complete noob when it comes to audio systems.

Thanks in advance

WaynePflughaupt

WaynePflughaupt

Audioholic Samurai

Probably cost more to fix than it’s worth. Check your manual - if the speakers are 8-ohms you can use them with a traditional stereo amplifier, but probably not with another mini-system like this.

Regards,
Wayne A. Pflughaupt

P

paulasp

Audiophyte
Thanks, I don't intend to fix the main audio system, just wondering whether I can plug those speakers into something and get them playing again.

Manual here says 6-ohm.

BMXTRIX

BMXTRIX

Audioholic Warlord
If the RCA inputs don't work on it, then I wouldn't use it for anything. The mic inputs are designed for 1 mV connections while the aux input is designed for 150mV connections. Make sure you don't have the mix set entirely to using the mic input, or it may turn the audio off completely and you would have no idea if the other inputs are working or not.

Strange for the Aux input to fail while a mic input still works.

Make sure you are on the right input to use the aux input, which will say 'VIDEO' on the front of the display (according to the manual).