NOOB questions about subwoofer calibration

J

john_dikeman

Enthusiast
I'm new to the subwoofer world. I recently found an old SVS 20-39 PC + locally that was quite cheap. I'm running it 2.1 with an Arcam A18 FMJ and Focal Aria 906 Aria speakers.
I also found an anti-mode 8033 locally very cheap.

In general I'm extremely happy with it but you know how rabbit holes are. I'm now curious how much better I can make it with what I've already got. This is all probably way overthought....

Couple things, it's in the corner of the room, to the left of the left speaker. I can't move it. I'm lucky my girlfriend hasn't kicked me and it out the window already...

I've currently got it set to 12 hz and the ports all plugged as someone at SVS suggested for optimal transient response.

I did a few things to try to integrate it but I did not measure it with a proper spl meter, instead with my phone with the Decibel X app. I used test sine waves to measure from my seating position and found that getting the gain for the bass to similar gains from the speakers in mid frequencies resulted in the bass being way too loud. Is it safe to assume my phone simply can't measure bass SPL properly? Or, do I just prefer less bass? I think the point at which it would register equal to the spl of the speakers, the house would be shaking and neighbors would be complaining...
I'm trying to remember an EQ curve that is commonly used for headphones, someone help me here... Is there something similar for a hifi system? Do you actually want flat response from 20 hz to 20,000?

At this point I'm flat broke so I can't really afford an SPL meter, and in the end I think fine tuning by ear is going to win out anyway, but I am curious still...