A

albee414

Audiophyte
Hello Everyone,

I am new to home theater...i am interested in putting together a small but nice home theater for myself...i did some searching around and i was very impressed with the Panasonic TH42PWD7UY for a tv...it got the best ratings...

Now the question i have is i want to put it on a wall that 49inchs wide...should i get the optional speakers?..is a home theater good for tv watching all the time?...

for speakers i was thinking of the bose 3-2-1 because i dont have alot of room and its only two speakers...

Thanks
Al

JohnA

JohnA

Audioholic Chief
Bose

albee414 said:
for speakers i was thinking of the bose 3-2-1 because i dont have alot of room and its only two speakers...
Most folks here will tell you not to go with BOSE....you can get better stuff for 1/2 or even less. Just FYI

Karp

Karp

Audioholic
What is your price range for speakers and how small do they have to be? The Bose 123 does not give you true surround sound and has terrible bass. If you want something compact, try HSU Research's Ventriloquist . Paired with the STF-1, you would get much better sound for less money. If you wanted to go with slightly larger speakers there are many more options available from reputable speaker manufacturers.

Karp

Karp

Audioholic
Forgot to mention that you will need to pair it up with a receiver of course. I would go with a Yamaha or Onkyo to get the best bang for the buck in in the 300 - 400 dollar range.

Many of the people here use there home theater to watch "regular" TV.

A

albee414

Audiophyte
Karp,

thank you...i will look into the speakers...and receiver...

well the reason i cant have alot of speakers is because i have no way of running the wires behind the couch without having them exposed...so if i could i would rather have 2-3 speakers and a sub that sit along side the tv..

i wasnt sure about the optional speakers but i feel better now that you told me alot of people do it...

Thanks again,
Al

bsjohnso

Audiophyte