Newbie needs to ask some dumb questions

J

jah732

Audiophyte
I am a newbie to home theatre and need to ask some really basic questions that the FAQs and other basic advice documents don't seem to answer.

I will mostly listen to music, but I am not an audiophile by any means. My spouse is looking forward to some classic progressive rock albums being released in 5.1 format and that is why we went to surround sound. We will watch movies occasionally on either the VCR or the DVD player.

1) I have just purchased a Yamaha RX-V750 receiver (too much power for me but I needed phono inputs and wanted a Yamaha). It says I should give it 30cm of space above it, and 30cm of space to either side. I was planning to put in into my entertainment centre, but there is no way there will be 30 cm of space on either side (I can probably swing the 30cm above). The centre is vented at the back, although with fairly small holes. If I keep the door open when I use the receiver, will this be okay or will it overheat because of the lack of space to either side?

2) The instructions imply I should run component video cables from my DVD player (Hitachi DV-C605U) to the receiver (as well as a coaxial or optical audio line), and then run component video cables from the receiver to my television (Sony WEGA KV-27FS17). Right now my DVD player is directly connected to my TV via component video cables (rat shack gold). What are the advantages/disadvantages to this two segment connection over directly connecting?