newbie needs more bass from system

K

KY1

Audiophyte
Hi. newbie here. i have a pair of 10 year old infinity SM122 towers. they consist of 1-12" woofer, 1-5 1/4" mid and 1 one inch tweeter. my receiver is an older yamaha rxv-490. its a 5.1 dolby stereo receiver. front two channels are rated at 70w per channel. the speakers are rated at "10-200 watts". the highs and mids sound fine for me. i cant get enough bass from them that i would like. i listen to music on them only. i would add a powered sub but my receiver doesnt have an output for one. my question is, would more power provide more bass? as far as i know i cant add an amplifier to my system. i was looking at harmon 3480 2 channel receiver which delivers 120w per channel(if i remember right). or would i be better off buying a seperate amp and receiver? or am i on the wrong track in general? thanks!

[Edit: Merged duplicate threads. Please avoid doouble posting. Thanks! - Admin]

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja
A good powered subwoofer might be just the ticket. Since you listen to music, I would highly recommend the Hsu STF-1. It doesn't have super duper depth capabilities, but it hits down to abour 28Hz in room, properly placed, and it is tight. Better yet, it has speaker level inputs that will allow you to use it with your current setup and speakers, with the only "extra" being another pair of speaker cables. I would also venture to say that a more powerful receiver or amplifier would be able to adqequately push that 12" woofer, but that might fall into a higher price catagory than you're willing to spend.

The Hsu is a little over $300 shipped directly from the manufacturer.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi