Newbie needs help !!

Malakei

Malakei

Junior Audioholic
Hey guys, i'm relatively new to the home theatre world but i'm putting together a cool little theatre in my bedroom that will serve as my entry level system for a few years until I can afford to upgrade. Currently I am running a yamaha HTR-5750 which seems to be a mid range reciever and i would like some mid range speakers to go with it. I have been researching for weeks abd looking at reviews constantly, however it doesnt look as though everyones review is necessarily legitamite. Needless to say I have looked at a few of the "white van" speaker companies such as theatre research which I even saw in person at my buddy's store. There wasnt much in the way of specs and he simply said they retail for 2000 how bad can they be. He was selling them for 500cdn haha. So obviously i was sceptical, thank god I recently joined this forum and have been reading up on companies such as these. Anyway, ive looked at a few speaker packages that caught the eye and were either well reviewed or ridiculously cheap and these are what I have so far, what do you think? And any other inputs in similar price ranges would be appreciated :D

1. Onkyo SKS-HT510
2. JBL SCS180.6
3. Harman Kardon HKTS14
4. Acoustic Research HC4 or 5
5. KINIMA Bi Polar RFX Speakers [local company, pretty nice specs from what i saw]

there were a few other from better companies like klipsch but im not personally impressed buy klipsch because altho inexperienced, i think they charge too much for their merchandise.

Someone please help :D:D newbie in distress.
Oh 1 more thing... when i first started looking at speakers, i thought wattage was what you wanted... i quickly found out otherwise, then i thought sensitivity and max SPL .... now i dont know what to think... what should i be looking for. ... I dont care about speaker size or look really but i just want good sound.

Z

Zarg

Junior Audioholic
Think Canuck

Malakei said: