Newbie Decent Budget Subwoofer

D

drawde84

Audiophyte
Hi.
First of all, I apologize for my lack of knowledge; I'm still very new to home audio, and this will be my first setup.

I'm looking for some recommendations on a cheap subwoofer that is of decent quality. I've read a lot of posts and I can assume all of you will say that I should save up and at the least, get a Bic H-100 or an X-sub or something in that quality/price bracket.

But I won't be able to save up much money for like, a couple years, since I'm paying a lot for tuition and don't need to dig myself in a bigger hole. But I agreed that I'd buy audio for the apartment I'll be staying in with my friends, so I was looking to get the cheapest, starting audio thats better than a crappy HTIB i can get.

To get a taste of the price-range and match the quality of my other speakers, my current "plan" is to start my entire audio system out with only spending like ~$160. I'm looking at getting a pair of Polk R15 speakers for $50, and then a Onkyo TXSR304 5.1-Channel Home Theater Receiver for $110.

Later, I'd wait until I get a little more money and hope to be able to build upon it by buying a subwoofer next. Then I'd wait a little longer and buy the Polk CSi25 Center Channel for $60-70. And finally, if I'd get another pair of R15s $50 or if I had the chance, I'd go for Polk R30 or R50 which are sometimes ~$100 for a pair on Frys and move my first pair of R15s to back speaker duty.

So you see, my budget is really tight, and I don't think it'd make sense to buy a subwoofer thats more expensive than the rest of my entire setup.
The subwoofers I was considering were the Advent ASW1200 and the Dayton Sub-100. What do you think of those or are there any other suggestions? Are they around the same quality as the rest of my planned setup? Whats the cheapest I can get them?