BayAreaRider

BayAreaRider

Junior Audioholic
What’s up guys, my name is Vince and I’m from the Bay Area. I’m new to the home audio scene, but not to audio in general. I’ve done some nice audio systems in cars and more recently a SQ system in my girls L300. I understand the basic concepts and some of the technical stuff.

Any how-

What I’m hoping to learn here is what kind of budget I should be looking at to upgrade my home theater. I’ve got a Yamaha sw216 and it’s adequate, but I’m looking to get a 15” or an 18” to replace it. My goal is to really shake the neighborhood when I turn it up. I remember a buddy had a 15” that you could sit on the couch with and feel every molecule in your body vibrate.

I don’t watch movies much, but listen to a lot of music and occasionally game. What should I be looking at? I don’t even know where to start.

TIA

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Start with the usual suspects of ID sub world....Hsu Research, SVS, Rythmik, Power Sound Audio. Maybe take a look at Seaton, JTR and Funk if you want something nicer. Maybe even just do a diy sub, it's not that hard (like a Dayton UM-18 and flatpack combo from parts-express.com).

BayAreaRider

BayAreaRider

Junior Audioholic
Ok thanks for the info. Maybe you could help me choose the right wattage too? My living room is about 20x20 w/ 9ft ceilings, but I took out 3/4 of the wall that separates it from the dining room, so it’s a pretty open floor space. All in all I’ve got well over 7000ft3 in the space this will pushing, and about 4000ft3 of frequently utilized listening area.

If I understand correctly - I should be using something that is capable of 120db in the audible range, does that sound right? Seems incredibly loud, but that is what I’m going for.

S

snakeeyes

Audioholic Ninja
That’s a big space. Perhaps a pair of HSU Research VTF15 subs. Good luck! :)

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi