New guy checking in.

S

SPaZZdOG

Audiophyte
Hi,
I recently got into HT hobby.I'm in the process of making a dedicated HT room.I already have all of my equipment and most of the room done.All I really like is to paint some trim and hang a couple of doors.I still need to buy my seating ,but that will have to wait a month or two(have temp seating for now).

My setup is:
Samsung 6187 1080p DLP
Oppo DV-970HD
Yamaha HTR 5960 Receiver
Xbox 360
SVS SBS-01 7.0 setup
SVS PB10-NSD

Only problem i'm having so far is calibrating my sub to my liking.I have the Avia disk and the RS SPL meter,but it's still confusing to a complete noob.I don't understand about the pink noise among other things.

My only regrets so far is I wish I bought a bigger sub,so that will be my first upgrade later this year.

Gimpy Ric

Gimpy Ric

Welcome to the nut house! I'm new too, but so far everyone has been super. Now, about setting up that sub.

I've owned four different subs, and they all reveal good and bad recordings. Good being most anything after the 80's. I'm 42, but still listen to Rock music most of the time. From AC/DC to ZZ Top it's all good. And XM channel 42 (squizz) modern rock which is equilized a bit on the bottom end. Even more equilized is XM Sweet 62 (R&B). That channel will drive nails with a sub.

Try a manual setup with your HTR 5960, put away the calibration equipment, and set it up by ear. Set your crossover to 80 hz, and put in a bass heavy cd, like Linkin Park, or some R&B, or rap - whatever blows your skirt up. Turn your sub up as much as you need to have fat bottom end, like it was recorded. Now, put in an old cd lacking bass and see what happens. Your sub may or may not do hardly anything. Try some action DVD's and the explosions should wake up your next door nieghbors.