New audio/videophyle here ... with questions ..

M

Methost

Full Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>Greetings fellow geeks. Im pretty new to home theater but have managed to patch myself together a pretty nice system. Sony 51&quot; RPTV, Sony progressive scan DVD and Aiawa receiver with JBL/booze 5.1 speakers. I know I have a bit of refining to do. What I was wondering was about some of the accesories that I do not yet have. Monster powerbar, or a line conditioner. What is the function of these products? Are they needed? Can anyone recomend a model? Also Im a bit fuzzy on the difference between Dolby Digital and Dolby DTS. I was using a playstation as my DVD player untill last week when I upgraded. As soon as I hooked up the new player via coax, my receiver defaulted to DTS and my TV defaulted to progressive scan. I assumed that this was supposed to happen but wasnt sure.

Any tips or help that anyone can offer would be great. I plan to continue upgrading my system as often as I can afford.

Thanks in Advance,</font>

G

<font color='#000000'>I can answer a couple of your questions.

The power bar you choose depends on your budget. I have Monster HTS-2600 ($300-350). It is a component power conditioner, which means it sits on your A/V rack like the other components. There is a big difference in sound when you use a power bar/conditioner. Everything sounds and looks better. Basically, your electrical signals will be cleaner, with less electrical interference. Listen to your setup without a power bar...then instal one...you'll see (and hear) a difference. I reccommend using one.