Need help with ground loop hum.

KEW

KEW

Audioholic Overlord
I set up my Rythmik E15HP and am frustrated to discover ground loop hum.
I'm no electrical engineer, but I am very good at trial and error!:rolleyes:
Here is what I have done/found thus far:

Routed subwoofer cord completely clear of power cords - Hum
Unplugged everything except receiver and sub - Hum
Plugged sub into different circuit - Hum
Use Belkin PF60 power conditioner - Hum
Switch subwoofer to off position - No Hum
Unplug subwoofer line from sub - No Hum

House is 10 years old. Passed routine home inspection "3 light plug" inspection of wiring.
Hum is also coming from receiver/main speakers when it happens, but clearly caused by presence of new sub.

What is next?

Thanks!

Adam

Adam

Audioholic Jedi
Hi Kurt,

Your description took away my go-to suggestions - you certainly know where to start. :) Unless your PF60 has an issue with its internal grounding, plugging both units into it should have insured that they were on the same ground. Perhaps the Rythmik line input or amp isn't properly grounded internally? Just to troubleshoot, have your tried both line level inputs and/or the speaker level inputs?

KEW

KEW

Audioholic Overlord
Thanks for the help! Traveling for T'giving and turned into a puppy rescue mission.
May be a day or two before I get back to this.

Rickster71

Rickster71

Audioholic Spartan
I set up my Rythmik E15HP and am frustrated to discover ground loop hum.
Routed subwoofer cord completely clear of power cords - Hum. That would be a different source of hum, not ground loop.
Unplugged everything except receiver and sub - Hum
Plugged sub into different circuit - Hum. The key here is to get everything onto the same circuit. If you have cable TV, disconnect the coax.
Use Belkin PF60 power conditioner - Hum. Try plugging everything into this conditioner. (This put everything at same ground potential)