Need ceiling speaker recommendation for HT

B

btm99

Audiophyte
I'm a newbie and struggling trying to figure out the most appropriate in-ceiling speakers, even though I know that in-ceilings are not the best sound.

I have an 11x16 room behind the garage, we are turning into a family room/TV room. Pre-teenage kids will probably monopolize the stereo and TV so music will range across the spectrum. The sheet rock just went up and the wires are set for 4 in-ceiling speakers in the front and back, one in-wall center speaker just below a plasma TV and I am planning to get a sub-woofer hidden in a corner. The TV will be on the shorter 11 foot wall.

It's hard to find a place to listen to ceiling speakers. I have heard Speakercraft at Magnolia in a nice room and the Niles in a wall at Good Guys, hard to tell the difference and with Speakercraft there are 5 different levels of speaker quality. Given that I just redid the room, I want the audio to be high quality, but I also don't want to break the bank.

Any input on ceiling speakers and an in-wall center speaker would be highly appreciated.

Needless to say I have to buy a receiver and Plasma as well.

Thanks for the help.

C

cropduster1

Enthusiast
btm99,

I have a brand new set of Jamo 10" 4-way speakers for sale in the classified section. I bought them to go on my rear porch but we are now moving so I have no need for them. Here are the specs:
For sale is a pair of Jamo 10.5K3 4 way speakers, these are new in the box. I purchased them to install in my home, but we are moving again and want to sell them.These are the specs:

28-22 kHz
4 or 8 ohm switchable
92 db sensitivity
these are nice 4 way speakers

asking $400.00 obo (paid $619 @ local dealer) I know, I paid too much!

I am willing to take less. Check out there web site...jamo.com...then click on products at the top...then the box on bottom left go to "custom assortment"..then download the catalog and you will see all their in wall and ceiling speakers.