My PC won'[t recognize my Yamaha TSR-7850, help!

A

Amature55555

Enthusiast
I got a used Yamaha TSR-7850. It works fine. I mainly need it to use my surround speakers with my PC windows 10. I can see the picture on the HD TV, but like my last receiver, it needs to be recognized by the computer as a device for the sound to work, but I can't get the PC to see the TSR-7850. Digital audio (s/pdif) with "high definition audio device" under it, and my tv name with "amd high definition audio device" under it are the only two settings listed under output. Digital audio (s/pdif) doesn't produce any sound; the setting with my tv name just plays badly through my center speaker. All the hdmi cords work fine. I don't know what to do. How do I get my PC to recognize the TSR-7850. I've tried everything chatgbt told me too, the manual says nothing, and I'm not an expert. Please help me.
Thanks

-Jim-

-Jim-

Audioholic General
Hi @Amature55555 , welcome to the Board.

I have one of my systems integrated with my PC and therefore are quite familiar with how to set them to work together.

Here's the Yamaha TSR-7850 Manual to start with, for us all to reference. I'd only go to a s/pdif connection if I wasn't able to use an HDMI cable, as the latter allows for lossless codecs to be utilized, and frankly, an HDMI cable is also simpler to deal with most of the time. Can you give me details on the PC (I build them for close friends and family - so I know my way around Windows PCs a bit as well)? The model number if it's a Dell, HP, etc., or motherboard & video card if it's a custom built will suffice.

My preference would be to utilize an HDMI out of the PC into an unused input of the Yamaha TSR-7850 receiver. Then the signal would be tweaked as you like there, with audio flowing to your speakers, and any video going via HMDI out of the receiver to your TV. Once set up this would be come your default audio output setup for your PC and therefore painless.