Moving up in the audio world?

Zweben

Zweben

Audiophyte
Hi. I'm Zweben and i'm an audio noob. (Ok, now that that's over with...)

I'm looking to move up in the audio world one more step and I could use some guidance.

I am slowly inching up in terms of my appreciation of high end audio.

My current audio equiptment is:

-Logitech Z-2300's
-Shure E2c's
-Sennheiser HD212 Pro's

Both my Shure's and Sennheisers sound great to me; my Logitech's sound decent but i'm starting to become dissatisfied with the bass (it sounds a little muddy to me) and the lack of fullness to the sound. (Which could either be positioning, the room acoustics, or... that it's a $150 computer speaker system)

So as I said, i'm looking to move up another step (or at least try something one step up), as I don't really appreciate good audio until i've heard something better. I don't use my Shure's much because I find them uncomfortable. My Sennheiser HD212's aren't that comfortable either, but I love the sound and use them all the time. I love lots of bass and they have plenty, even for me.. I listen to music both on my iPod and on my computer. Most of it is 128kbps AAC from iTunes. In terms of my ability to descern compression, I can tell a 128 MP3 from AIFF (just barely), but I can't tell a 128 AAC from AIFF.

What kind of suggestions does anyone have for moving up to the next step towards high end audio? Or does it sound like I wouldn't appreciate anything better at this point and shouldn't bother? For example, would a headphone amp be something worthwhile to look into for the Sennheiser HD 212's? Where should I go from here?

Thanks in advance.

I

InTheIndustry

Senior Audioholic
Keep in mind that I am just grasping at straws here because I don't know your budget.