K

kwalker201

Audiophyte
Newbie here, I just recently bought this new receiver. I also took the plunge on Definitive Tech speakers, Im running 2 BP9060 floor speaker 1 CS9040 center and 4 pro 1000 ie 2 for surround and 2 for height. When I run my setup I'm setting everything to small. But I know nothing about crossover and where to set them for the best settings. I have Dynamic EQ on and Dynamic Vol off. Can someone give me some info into some settings for this setup please.

ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
Set your crossovers to about 1 octave above the lower end of the speakers response. 1 octave is s doubling of the frequency... for example, an octave above 25hz is 50.

Are you running subwoofers? Or hoping the powered woofers of your towers will do the job for you?

Phase 2

Phase 2

Audioholic Chief
You need to look up, PENG, you can't go wrong with him.

K

kwalker201

Audiophyte
I'm using the built in subs which seem to be pretty awesome. I also set the bass to lfe/main with 120. Im not understanding about the octaves. Thsnk you for your quick replies

Last edited:
ryanosaur

ryanosaur

Audioholic Overlord
I'm using the built in subs which seem to be pretty awesome. I also set the bass to lfe/main with 120. Im not understanding about the octaves. Thsnk you for your quick replies
A third party review of the 9060s shows a steep rolloff centered right at 40 Hz for the low end of your speaker.
https://hometheaterreview.com/assets_c/2016/09/BP9060-FR-thumb-650xauto-15990.jpg
Though DT claims your speaker is good to 18Hz, they are unfortunately well known to fudge their specs in that regard. That same review also shows a -10dB bass response with the powered woofers cranked at roughly 21-22Hz.
If you want to run these Large and full range you can probably do so. However, these speakers simply do not perform as a real Subwoofer performs, and the marketing crew for DT isn't doing anyone any favors.