Lost in speaker setup and configuration

J

James_Ngo

Audioholic Intern
Hi all.! New to forum and total newbie to home audio. So I do apologize if am asking the wrong questions.

Here is what I have currently:

Pioneer elite vsx-03txh

Infinity composition overture 3 type33

Klipsch rw-12

This is all the speakers that I will be setting up.

I have read every article until my eyes bleed. Watched every article and still don't understand front large/small, LFE or LFE+main, and how bass management and/or X-over work with each speaker size.

Any suggested tip for speaker size configuration and setup would be awesome.

Side note:
Vsx-03txh and rw-12 recently purchased to replace HK avr180 and Infinity hps-250. Hps-250 wasn't producing low freq. (Power light indicate is on). So replace HK with vsx-03txh and hps-250 still not producing low freq. Gave up and bought a rw-12.

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

Matthew J Poes

Matthew J Poes

Audioholic Chief
Staff member
Personally i would consider trying LFE+main and set for large. This lets the speaker operate full range and the sub as well. I would not place the subwoofer next to the speakers. It should be somewhere else in the room. Your mains are a large tower if I recall. Is that the one with front and rear woofers?

Set the crossover to 80-100hz and see how you like that.

J

James_Ngo

Audioholic Intern
Personally i would consider trying LFE+main and set for large. This lets the speaker operate full range and the sub as well. I would not place the subwoofer next to the speakers. It should be somewhere else in the room. Your mains are a large tower if I recall. Is that the one with front and rear woofers?

Yes they are, 2 front/2back all 6.5.

As for x-over setting. Is that for the towers or sub?

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi