Looking to upgrade.

B

Brguitarist

Enthusiast
I'm looking to upgrade my home theater setup. I am a noob that has been using these forums to make all of my decisions for my home theater needs. Great site with great feedback/opinions!

A couple a years ago I purchased a budget setup (yamaha rx-v671, pioneer's andrew jones 1st gen speakers, and later a BIC America PL-200 sub). The system has treated me well and I haven't had any bad experiences or mishaps with the equipment but I've got the bug and want to upgrade.

So now to my questions. Should I put money into new speakers first or upgrade my AVR? And what do you recommend? I would rather not spend a lot of money and barely improve my system. I don't plan on buying everything all at once because lets face it, I'm in the military and don't make tons of money, but am willing to spend the money.

Thanks advance for the replies!

zieglj01

zieglj01

Audioholic Spartan
Your receiver is fine - I would work on the front 3 speakers first
Need some type of budget - to begin recommendations.

Pyrrho

Pyrrho

Audioholic Ninja
I agree that it is speakers (which includes subwoofers) that matter the most for sound, and in your case in particular, I would replace speakers first. However, to get a substantial improvement over what you have will cost you. The Andrew Jones speakers have a good reputation for being high value, which means that to get better will cost significantly more than they cost you. If you are poor, save up your money until you have a lot to spend.

Many people do a bunch of little upgrades, buying speakers that they soon want to replace, and they end up wasting a lot of money. If they just saved their money and bought their final upgrade first, they would have more money for other things. Or they could have a better system than they will ever be able to afford with the way that they approach things.