Looking to upgrade my speakers

C

chris9124

Audiophyte
I've been running a Mirage OM series speaker system for about 5 years (OM8, OMC2, OMR2 - 5.1)...I can't afford to upgrade everything at once, so I figured I'd buy the mains for a stereo listening room for now and then buy the rest of the system as money permits...I'm looking to spend between 3500 and 5000 on the main speakers...I've been thinking Revel, Kef, B&W, or Paradigm Signature...any thoughts? Your help would be appreciated :)

jaxvon

jaxvon

Audioholic Ninja
While I have not heard them, I know some users have the Onix Ref. 3s and like them a lot. PM Sleestack and craigsub if you have questions about them. They're very highly acclaimed speakers.

C

cornelius

Full Audioholic
Chris,

Focus Audio FS78 SE
Ohm Walsh 200
Magnepan MG3.6
Vandersteen 3A, Quattro
Hyperion HPS-938
Von Schweikert VR 4jr
DeVore Fidelity Gibbon 8

Except for the Qauttros, I've heard all of the above - I can't claim a favorite, but that doesn't matter to you - these will all outperform the usual B&Ws, Paradigms...

Have fun!

C

chris9124

Audiophyte
I was reading another thread about speaker loads...most of the speakers that I'm considering are 4 ohm. I'm currently using a Yamaha RXV1400 - is 4 ohms too much to ask it to power? I had considered upgrading to seperates but the processors never have the features I want. I was dead set on going with the 4806 from Denon, but if it can't handle the 4 ohm load whats the point. I've heard it suggested theat you add a seperate amp - if thats the case why not go seperates from the start? Does anyone know of a processor that will have similar features to the 4806? Is Lexicon upgrading any of their stuff for HDMI switching and iLink? Thanks

mulester7

mulester7

Audioholic Samurai
chris9124 said: