Looking to get out of 5.1 and back into stereo

P

pjviitas

Audioholic Intern
Haven't been to these forums for years...good to be back.

I have been running a $300 set of surround speakers for 10 years now and have never really been happy with the sound quality.

Now I am ready to replace them but would rather spend my money on sound quality than surround and got to thinking a set of stereo speakers may be the way to go.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
Just speakers, or a whole system?

If the former, what receiver do you have?

What's your price range?

KenM10759

KenM10759

Audioholic Samurai
You can have both 2 (or 2.1) stereo and 5.1 (or more) surround with the same system, it's just a matter of being able to select which channels you feed for a given listening environment.

I don't know what your spend limits would be, but in mid-priced systems a good audio-video receiver can be a one-button push to switch from surround to stereo. In higher level systems you can do similar with an array of separate components.

H

herbu

Audioholic Samurai
I have been running a $300 set of surround speakers for 10 years now and have never really been happy with the sound quality.
The "sound quality" of what? Car door closing? Plane flying by? Phone ringing?
You know that's mostly what you get from surrounds, right?

So what is it you want to improve? TV/Movies or music? Do you usually listen to music in surround? Most people listen to music in stereo, using only their Front Left & Right speakers. How do you like your current L/R speakers?

Tell us a little more and we can better help.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi
$300 set of 5.1 speakers is the reason you're not happy. Speakers are the single most important factor in your sound. To improve on that though, your thinking is correct - a better 2.0 or 2.1 setup will be a better investment.

Seth=L

Seth=L

Audioholic Overlord