Looking for some sound advice

O

OUTCAST

Enthusiast
I'm new to the Audioholics forum. I'm looking for some opinions and advice. I especially would appreciate hearing anyone's experience with the RX-A2070 or 2080.

I can't say that I am pleased with the sound I'm getting out of my setup. I think it might have to do with the cross-over setup. 80Hz isn't working well IMO. If I set it lower for the Front Speakers, will that send less signal to the sub? I want a bit fuller sound stage. My front speakers are pretty wide apart, and the drivers are relatively high (you can see the doorway next to my sub). Any suggestions on configuring/tweaking?

My living room has terrible acoustics—hardwood floors and an off-centered vaulted ceiling that goes from 8-feet to about 15-feet. One sidewall (right) is almost all glass, and the other wall opens up into a significant entryway. Besides a rather large sofa in the center of the room and a nice size area rug on the floor, I don't have much to absorb or cancel reflective sound. My AV receiver is a few years old, it's a Yamaha RX-A2070, and I am using it to power a 5.1 speaker setup. The front speakers are Klipsch RF-82 ii's that I have bi-amped. The center channel is output through two Klipsch RC-62's, and the left and right surround speakers are in the ceiling behind my sofa. They're Klipsch CDT-5800-Cii's. I have an SVS SB16-Ultra sub.
LR.jpg

Mark E. Long

Mark E. Long

Audioholic General
Those mains look to be pretty high up to me that could be a concern to the soundstage as you really want the tweeters to Be on the same plane as the center at ear level .and I’d think running two centers side by side could cause some problems aswell . Iam sure others will jump in on this with more ideas than me .

Eppie

Eppie

Audioholic Ninja