M

Mark Sutherland

Audiophyte
I am new to the separates home theatre world and would like to upgrade from my basic Samsung system but want to start with a second hand system to see how I get on, any advice on the following would be greatly appreciated, I would like to know which is the better of the two -

KEF2005.3 speakers with Kube2 sub-woofer

KEF KHT1505 with HTS7001 speakers

Many thanks

Mark S

tyhjaarpa

tyhjaarpa

Audioholic Field Marshall
I personally would stay away from both sets. What is your budget and what are you trying to achieve? What size is your room you are working with? And from what area you are from so we can possibly check some local sales?

KenM10759

KenM10759

Audioholic Samurai
Stay away why?

Both are better than a LOT of HTIB kits at Best Buy or anything from Bose. Of the two I'd definitely go with the 2005.3 system. The KEF Egg speakers are actually pretty damned good for what they are.

If size of the speakers isn't an issue then tyhjaara is right. You could spend less and get more with other options. What's the budget, size of room, application, and are you factoring in approval of a cohabitator?

tyhjaarpa

tyhjaarpa

Stay away why?

Both are better than a LOT of HTIB kits at Best Buy or anything from Bose. Of the two I'd definitely go with the 2005.3 system. The KEF Egg speakers are actually pretty damned good for what they are.

If size of the speakers isn't an issue then tyhjaara is right. You could spend less and get more with other options. What's the budget, size of room, application, and are you factoring in approval of a cohabitator?
Reason why is what you already said, you can get better performance for money with something else. Yes they are better than bose and similar things, but you can do a lot better with better speakers for money.

KenM10759

KenM10759

Audioholic Samurai