JVC RX-D702B speaker setup, advice needed!

D

DJ_J2k

Audiophyte
Hello, I am new here
I am a retired DJ amateur enthusiast looking for help setting up my first 7.1 home theatre.
I have an amplifier at the center of my setup: JVC RX-D702B and it specifys 150 watts per channel output with 6-16ohm speaker impedance.

What's the ideal speaker setup? My theatre room is approx 15 ft x 23 ft with 7.5 ft high ceilings, open concept doorway to the equipment area and no other ways in / out. One window, small and covered with pillows for sound diffusion.

I figure to get best performance I should use 16 ohm speakers 150w each, but what do I know? that's why I'm here. Help is much appreciated!

everettT

everettT

Audioholic Spartan
Depending on how far you sit and how loud you expect to play a system based around that JVC, I'd say fairly easy to drive speakers would be helpful. Do you have a budget? Current gear that will be used other than the JVC?. Is the JVC a sure fire or open to other ideas?

D

DJ_J2k

Audiophyte
I'd like to weigh the benefits before considering budget options.
Higher ohms and watts offer me what, clearer sound or just louder sound at lower volume levels?
I want clear sound, so I can avoid the painfully aggravating 'barely audible conversations, deafening music and special effects' curse of systems without decent dynamic range compression. I don't even know if this amp offers that, so I want to get ahead of it on the hardware level.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Here's some more info on measured output of that avr's amp section https://www.soundandvision.com/content/jvc-rx-d702b-av-receiver-ht-labs-measures