Im a serious newbie that needs advice!

K

kopykat

Audiophyte
Hi all,
This is my first post on this forum, hope you guys can help me out. I recently purchased a new HT system. The system is made of: a pair of Morel Octave 5.2 for front speakers and a pair of Morel Sl-2 for rear speakers. The system also consists of an CambridgeAudio reciever - Azur 540R. Here's my problem... I am not satisfied with the volume level I am achieving with this setup. I really have to crank up the reciever to get to some loud output.
Now from what I know the Octave's can take up to 200w rms and my reciever outputs only 100w rms when used in stereo, so from the little i know im assuming that the speakers are just too powerful for the reciever's output level. Now, in case im correct with my assumption, I need to find a solution. Is there a way I can add more juice to my Octaves ? Is there a way i can get an amplifier to add another 100w rms output just to those speakers? what do I need exactly?

Thanks for any advice.

M

markw

Audioholic Overlord
First off, don't be so serious. Laugh a little.

Second, a little primer on amp power vs. speaker sensitivity. Get the sensitivity figure for your speakers. That is critical to this.

In the meantime, I'll assume (and use) a figure of 87 db/meter but you should be able to iterpolate whatever it is that you need to know.

An amplifer with 100 watts into an 87 db speaker will be able to produce a certain loudness.

To increase that loudness by a BARELY AUDIABLE 3 decibles will require twice that power, or 200 watts.

To increase the loudness another 3 decibles requires twice that power, or 400 watts.

So, to gain a mere 6 decibles over your initial 100 watt amp, you need 400 watts.

Let's look at this another way, starting with 100 watts into those 87 db speakers.

If those had a sensitivity of 90 db/meter, or 3 db more efficient, to obtain that same loudness you would only need 50 watts.