HTPC instead of Pre-amp

M

mangrovia

Audiophyte
If you have a media center pc with a good sound card, why would one need a pre-amp? If receivers are essentially digital-to-analog converters and source splitters, couldn't a computer do the same thing?

From what I have seen, upper end 8-channel pre-amps (costing around ~$3k-$5k) deliver nearly the same 24b/192khz digital-to-analog conversion as a sound card costing $250 or less.

If all your audio is coming from your computer anyway can't you just bypass a pre-amp or receiver and plug directly into a power amplifier?

I've read that volume spikes out of a computer could potentially damage an amplifier, but couldn't fuzes protect equipment from this? Are there other factors that should be considered when sending computer audio directly to an amp?

To me the concept sound like heresy, but maybe it's worth consideration. I'm no expert on this, so I'd honestly love to hear all perspectives.

Thanks

OttoMatic

OttoMatic

Senior Audioholic
If all your audio is coming from your computer anyway can't you just bypass a pre-amp or receiver and plug directly into a power amplifier?
You can certainly do that if you want.

I've read that volume spikes out of a computer could potentially damage an amplifier, but couldn't fuzes protect equipment from this? Are there other factors that should be considered when sending computer audio directly to an amp?
Not sure about "volume spikes". As long as you have a good method of controlling the PC's output volume, you should be fine.

Try it!

J

JCW

Enthusiast
I'm not sure if the output from a PC is strong enough to drive a power amp properly, but it sure wouldn't take long to find out. If the PC output is too weak, you'd have a signal to noise ratio issue. You can check the specs of your PC and poweramp before you try it.