Hoping to get some pointers here

Soccerkid830

Soccerkid830

Full Audioholic
Hey everybody, I'm new here and hoping to grab a few tips :),

I'm a college student, sorta set on a goal to make a semi-decent home audio system while I'm here. Last year I got a Sony DAV-HDX265 HTIB system and soon found out that these are not worthwhile to be honest, this is where hopefully I can pick up some quick tips.

I recently bought the Onkyo HT-RC160 receiver for just under $300 shipped. However, I am still using the Sony receiver. I also managed the pick up a pair of older Technics SB-A27's that I currently am using as my front two speakers. Then I replaced the tiny surround speakers from the HTIB with the originally front speakers for the time being. The center channel on the receiver doesn't seem to function at all, so I'm at a 4.1 system with a passive 8"?? sub I believe. Not quite sure on that though.

So the questions I have...
I've been looking at a few different subwoofers, the Sony SA-W3000, and the Dayton Sub-120. They are each $100-150 or so, and seem to have similar reviews in that they tend to be a bit boomy, but they are cheap subs and I know this. So any reasons to choose/avoid either sub, or choosing a completely different sub, hopefully <$150 would be great :). And being as this receiver is a 7.2, should I go ahead and make it a full 7.2 with two subs, or would 1 be adequate?

The next speakers I'm looking at are the Sony SS-F6000 speakers.
I've read some pretty good reviews on these speakers as well and found them for $98 a pair so I was thinking of getting these to possibly replace my Technics speakers as the front L/R channels, putting the Technics either on the side or behind the couch, depending what sounds better, and continuing to use the original Sony front speakers as wall mounted surrounds or something of the sort.