Home Theatre Movie Enthusiast

S

shijalude

Audiophyte
This is my first time on a forum unrelated to IT issues. I am a huge movie nut, I have always been trying to achieve a great home theatre setup. However I have always gone for the simple HTIB option, my first being the Sony SAVA-500 (which I still have), then to an Onkyo HT-S6100. Then I finally built my own with the DefTech Pro 800 5.1 set with a Sony STR-DN840.

None of the systems except for the SAVA, sounded like they were at the full potential. Probably my doing. I would scour google for settings and configs but nothing ever worked. Finally I began having issues three weeks ago with the Sony going into protector constantly when playing movies. I checked all the wires (so I thought) and came to the conclusion that I needed a new receiver.

So I went to Best Buy and was surprised to see that Def Tech had a 20% off sale on their 9000 series equipment, something I had been eyeing since they came out. So I pulled the trigger (with wife approval), and picked up the CS9060 and two BP9060. I asked the magnolia rep to recommend the receiver that is best paired with the equipment, he sold me the Denon AVR-X2400h.

I had to setup the receiver first as the speakers had to be shipped to me, When hooked everything up I found I got the same issue with the receiver powering down. That's when I discovered the front right speaker wire from the speaker side was too exposed ad was causing a short. I tested everything later and realized the after doing the Audyssey setup the Pro 800 sounded spectacular.

The speakers finally arrived but I was already contemplating to return everything minus the receiver, until I didn't and setup up everything. When I finished the setup and put on a movie I found myself extremely disappointed the sound was Meh, The pro 800's sounded better. It has to be a configuration issue but I cant figure it out so I am hoping someone here can give me some advise, Below is how its currently setup.