Help with Home Theatre setup (HDTV to Receiver, DVD, Directv)

D

dooma

Audiophyte
Ok, I am a complete newbie and I need some helP with my Home theatre setup!
I just purchased a 50" Philips Plasma HDTV 50PF9630A
and I am trying to integrate a Receiver, Speakers, DVD Player (not yet purchased) and DirecTV together (not yet hooked up).

In my previous setup with a regular TV, I had everything connected to my receiver which was hooked to my TV. It was all so simple. Now there is too many confusing input/outputs.

Receiver - Onkyo DR-90 (About 5 years old, No HDMI port, has 2 optical and 1 coaxial)
Speakers - Bose (AMD-11)
DVD - TBD (Plan on getting one with HDMI interface - any recs on model?)

My plasma has 2 HDMI ports. Too optimize the whole HDTV experience,
I've been told to connect the Directv HD box and DVD players thru a HDMI port. Is this correct?

Now here is the part i feel really stupid.
If both the DVD player and DirectV are connected via a direct HDMI connection to the plasma, how do I get the audio to come thru the receiver/speakers?
For the DVD, do I use the optical connection, to run a separate optical cable from the DVD to the Receiver?

For DirecTV (I've never had this and its not setup yet), do I use a separate optical cable (or maybe coaxial?) to run from the HD box to the receiver?

Lastly, how do I establish a digital connection between my receiver and plasma? Again, I have 2 optical ports and one coaxial. On the back of my plasma I saw a "Digital" audio single plug in the back

If there is a better or more efficient approach, I would be open to any suggestions. And I'll read up as much as I can on this forum.
Thanks, and I appreciate any advice you can give me.

Regards

Dooma

S

selwonk

Audiophyte