Help me decide...narrowed down

S

sbinkley

Junior Audioholic
I am slowly going to redo my HT speaker set-up (with the permission of the wife yay!),however the speakers will need to be wall or shelf mounted. I am trying to do the best with sound (primarily movie and tv),aesthetics, and budget (I'm a teacher after all). My previous setup was a Mirage MX 5.1 (which I have been pleased with but struggle with dialogue in movies) and a Pioneer Elite VSX90. Here is what I have come up with. Any suggestions greatly appreciated. **Room size is 16' wide, 19' long, 8' ceilings.
  • Axiom M22 (front left & right) and VP150 (center) $1268 + shipping. Continue using 2 of my Mirage satellites for surround until budget replenishes. Also be purchasing the Monolith 10THX sub.
  • HTD Versa HTS1 for all 3 front channels $1092 w/shipping. Same as Axiom setup for surround and sub. (not sure on this one as I can't find any good feedback on these).
  • Definitive Technology Mythos Gem (front left & right) and Mythos Seven (center) $958 w/free shipping (Crutchfield). Same as Axiom setup for surround and sub.
  • Revel Concerta M8 (wall mount one for front left & right) and Concerta C10 (center) $1000 w/free shipping (Crutchfield). Same as Axiom for surround and sub.
  • RSL CG23 system (3 CG23 speakers, 2 CG3 speakers, and the Speedwoofer 10S sub) $1239 w/free shipping.
Thanks for all the help!

Last edited:
S

shadyJ

Speaker of the House
Staff member
The HTD speakers look like they could be good, but Revel is always a sure bet. The RSL would be fine, but they would be better with a stand off distance away from the wall, not right on it. I would not purchase free-standing speakers with the idea of placing them right against the wall, unless they were engineered to be placed there. Some other decent in-walls to look at are Klipsch, Hsu, and Polk Audio.

S

sbinkley

Junior Audioholic