Help for a Newbie - WII & HD Advice

F

Fatcat153

Audiophyte
Hi All,

Sorry for the no brainer question, please feel free to redirect me to the relevant post if this has been answered before !

I am a UK Resident, I have a SKY HD box that is fed directly from a dish, this in turn is connected to my Samsung Flat Screen TV by a HDMI Cable. I also have a HT System (Panasonic) which has an optical out from the SKY box to the HT, thus I get surround sound from my DVD player. The picture for the HT is from a scart cable from the DVD player to the TV - (the TV only has 1 HDMI connection)

All seems to work fine, however I also have a WII that is connected using the red/White/Yellow lead and I can't get any surround sound for the WII - I guess this is because there is no connection to the HT ! However on my old HT system (Sony) with no optical output I did - can anyone pls advise what I need to change to make life better.

I have checked the Sky Box and there is only 1 HDMI, as there is on the HT, all in all, 1 TV, 1 SKY Box, 1 HT System and 1 WII - whats the best way to hook it all up for the maximum benefit.

Thanks in advance.

FC

Nemo128

Nemo128

Audioholic Field Marshall
All seems to work fine, however I also have a WII that is connected using the red/White/Yellow lead and I can't get any surround sound for the WII - I guess this is because there is no connection to the HT !
Sorry to disappoint you, but the Wii has no surround capability. It only outputs stereo, so you don't need to worry about connecting the audio to a digital input.

Some games for Wii are recorded in Dolby Pro Logic, but it's still 2 channel.

F

Fatcat153

Audiophyte
Thanks for that, is there any way that I could connect the WII to the HT so I don't have to turn that off all the time and then put the TV volume up ?