Help Choosing Component Video Cable

W

whoster69

Audiophyte
<font color='#000000'>First let me say that I'm new to all of this but have a strong background in computers.  This forum looks great and very useful.  

I just bought a JVC AV-36F704 36&quot; TV to go with my LiteOn LVD2002 DVD player.  Both support component video cabling.  I skimmed the component video cable definitive guide. &nbsp;It looks to have some very useful info but some a bit above my head and read through the forums here before posting. I have two questions: 

1. &nbsp;I would like to get people's recommendations on what component video cables they think are good and where I can buy them online.

2. &nbsp;Do 6 foot cables provide a better signal than 12 foot cables?

Thank you in advance for any help.

Whoster</font>

Shinerman

Shinerman

Senior Audioholic
<font color='#000000'>whoster69,

Take a look at PartsExpress.com. &nbsp;They have a big selection. &nbsp;No need to spend big money on cables. &nbsp; You might also look at Radio Shack. &nbsp; Look at their Gold Series. &nbsp; They are priced pretty good and are good build quality. &nbsp;I tend to look more at build quality and ignore all the magical claims cable companies make. &nbsp;You will find that on this site and others, highend cables are generally thought of as a waste of money. &nbsp;I think the most expensive cable I use was about $25 dollars.

Oh, 6 and 12 ft cables. &nbsp; No difference. &nbsp;

Shinerman</font>

jeffsg4mac

jeffsg4mac

Republican Poster Boy
<font color='#000000'>Go to target and check out the GE Prograde, $19.95 for a 12ft component cable that is very good. Also the RCA pro series and AR cables at best buy are good too. I thought the radio shack was a little to pricey for what they were, not any better than the others and twice the price.</font>

G