help choosing 5.1 speakers

V

varkeast

Junior Audioholic
I'm trying to start building a good system. right now i have an Onkyo TX-SR601S receiver and some old old speakers. I am looking to spend around $1200 for 5.1 speakers. the room i am putting it in is not very big so i was planning on using bookshelf speakers on stands for the front, and some bipole speakers for surrounds. right now i am leaning towards polk RTi4's up front, FXi3's in back, and a CSi3 in the center. havent made any decisions on a sub yet.

i just wanted to see what people thought about this plan, and if there was a better route to take since i am new to the whole thing.. Thanks

U

Unregistered

If you're planning on going with the rti series I would do it soon. Circuit city at least is closing out this line. If you act soon you could even go up to the rti 8's in front (if you have the room). I've seen them as low as $149 Each. Just thought I would let you know.

G

Gatorchong

Audioholic
Polk's are great, but if you up your budget by $100, you could get an Aperion Audio 5.1 system. Check them out www.aperionaudio.com. There's a pretty good review on this site for them too.

V

varkeast

Junior Audioholic
does anyone know the difference between the polk RTi and monitor series, the specs for the RTi seem a little better, but i know those are just numbers

I

Illuminatti

Junior Audioholic
Try to audition Monitor Audio (Silver or Bronze series), it might fit your budget

T

teaPOT

Wharfedale Home Cinema 6?

hello, am thinking of getting the above? can't seem to find any review on this speakers system. Any help will be much appreciated :)

V

varkeast

Junior Audioholic
thanks for all the recomendations, anyone know anywhere in the NC area (or dallas till 7/30) that i can audition the aperions, monitors, or ascends?

V

varkeast

Junior Audioholic
I've decided to move away from the polks. it's come down to either:
a) the aperion 522d's with 8" sub ($1299)