Good as will get or Redo?

D

DN2292

Audiophyte
Newbie here so my apologies for ignorance, will get right to the point.

Just picked up a really nice pair of Mission 700S but quickly realized there was something missing in the mid‘s of vocals specifically.(at least what my untrained ear can hear) Compared to my previously owned vintage B&W or the infinities in my study these are lacking depth and body(from what I remember these used to have it???)
Powered by 33w Yamaha RX-300U
sitting right at wall, on 11” stands

Am I expecting too much out of these particular speakers or do the crossovers need to be redone? Overall they sound good, driver surrounds are fine, block-foam inside is still intact. One speaker seems to be lacking in general more than the other.

Any thoughts or general direction would be appreciated. I am more than ready to redo the guts, would be my first foray into doing this but would be fun to make these better if possible.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
You have the ability to design a crossover? Or you just want to replace components? Do any components appear to have failed?

Why are the speakers up against the wall? If you think one speaker is lacking put it in mono mode and compare them side by side? ...perhaps you can pinpoint an issue better that way. Hard to know how they compared to other speakers in your rooms, that's fairly subjective.

D

DN2292

Audiophyte
I can just replace components if they have just cycled out of spec(that is common, yes?) The speaker that performs weaker, upon opening up the Crossover has pulled off the base from stress of the wire being pulled at one time I suppose.
None of capacitors have discoloring.

The speakers are 5” from the wall, so I was not correct earlier.

I have played with them up to this point listening to see if it was just me hearing a diff. But will do more tests as you mentioned.

D

DN2292

Audiophyte
These are not the same crossovers. Sorry My pic’s were too big