Good amp for JBL HP 530s?

Audiohead501

Audiohead501

Audiophyte
Hey all! I am new to the audio scene but have been wanting to get some towers for a while. I ended up finding some JBL HP 530s. I’ve had a great time finding much info on these at all. They sound pretty good with an older Onkyo amp I had around but I’d like to level up the setup. I’ve ordered banana plugs and new 12 gauge wires which should be more than enough. Previous owner was using 22AWG. I’m wondering if I’ll be able to hear a difference. Does anyone else have a set of these and how did you end up setting them up? Also they need a little love cosmetically so I’m open to tips there too! Thanks!
70839000611__D1B97723-257D-4913-9ECA-F0BD7C93A461.jpeg

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Never had a set but wouldn't turn them away, read some nice comments about this line (I own several other JBLs, tho).

Why the banana plugs? Going to move things/switch things out a lot? The Onkyo amp could well be sufficient, what is it? What do you want, an integrated amp or a power amp or ? It's possible the change in gauge wire could make a difference, altho mostly depends on the length involved....might pull out that pushed in dust cap perhaps.

Audiohead501

Audiohead501

Audiophyte
Wasn’t planning on changing things around a lot but I like the idea of making wires I can switch around if I’d like.
Is there a downside to the plugs, other than small additional cost?
I definitely would prefer integrated, largely for budget reasons. Amp Is an Onkyo HT-R550
Dust cap has been pulled. Can’t leave them looking like that.
Open to any and all info as I am a blank slate when it comes to audio.

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
The bananas are good for convenience....was just curious due the context of your post. I like the Sewell Silverbacks myself, prefer the dual set screws.