gold plated 8K HDMI cable - is it worth it?

K

KingSirus

Enthusiast
Hey everybody,

I'm pretty new to online forums, so let me know if this is the right kind of thing I should be posting on here :)

I've recently set up a home cinema system which includes a brand new smart TV, sub and speaker set up.

I'm looking for accessories online and I'm considering buying a gold-plated, 8K HDMI cable with a transfer rate of 48GB per second from a website.

It seems to be a relatively okay price compared to some of the others that I've seen (John Lewis is £99, and there are some online that go up to £2500!!!!) but I wanted to ask: what is the efficacy of this kind of hardware and what kinds of quality difference am I likely to experience?

The TV I have is 8K so I'm presuming I'm better off with a cable that has a high transfer rate?

Josef

Attachments

T

TankTop5

Audioholic General
Sure why not. It’s most likely foil and will chip and peal off easily but that shouldn’t affect performance as the wires are most likely copper. The real question is what’s the gigabits per second rating on the cable and how much do you need?

LOL, just kidding, that cable is pure marketing garbage.! Tell us about your setup and we’ll recommend the correct HDMI cable that costs under $20.

H

Hetfield

Audioholic Samurai
Yeah I don't spend over 15 bucks on HDMI cables. Just get the speed you need and from a decent non snake oil company and you are good to go.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

lovinthehd

lovinthehd

Audioholic Jedi
Well one thread is sufficient for starters, but never "needed" a gold plated hdmi connector myself.

afterlife2

afterlife2

Audioholic Warlord
Go on amazon and look and give us a link of what you choose before your purchase. I wouldn't spend over $15 like the others here said.

j_garcia

j_garcia

Audioholic Jedi