B

BEW506

Enthusiast
Hello,
I have been using Boston Acoustics bookshelf speakers for 10 years or so. MCS100 is the model number. Recently the subwoofer developed a 60cycle buzz. I changed the capacitors but it didn’t fix the problem. I’m looking for advice on next steps. Should I replace all 5.1 speakers so they are matched? Or just the sub? The subwoofer is inside of a cabinet down firing. Do I need another down firing sub or does it really matter? I have seen Polk PSW 111, PSW 108,

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
That's not a Subwoofer.

Here is a Sub in the same price range as the Polks you listed but would perform better

B

BEW506

Enthusiast
That's not a Subwoofer.

Here is a Sub in the same price range as the Polks you listed but would perform better

Thank you for your reply. I will check out this sub. My primary question deals with just replace the failed sub or replace all of the speakers so I have a matched set. I’m not sure what is better. Thanks

mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
mazersteven

mazersteven

Audioholic Warlord
Thank you for your reply. I will check out this sub. My primary question deals with just replace the failed sub or replace all of the speakers so I have a matched set. I’m not sure what is better. Thanks
Those are satellite speakers if you're looking for a much better home theater experience it is recommended that you replace the whole system if you state a budget I'll help you with that

XEagleDriver

XEagleDriver

Audioholic Chief
. . . . My primary question deals with just replace the failed sub or replace all of the speakers so I have a matched set.
I’m not sure what is better. Thanks
Just the sub is all it would take to fix your issue.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

Last edited:
B

BEW506

Enthusiast
Those are satellite speakers if you're looking for a much better home theater experience it is recommended that you replace the whole system if you state a budget I'll help you with that