Equipment to go with Salk SongTower IIs

C

cheesedawg

Audiophyte
I've had my eye on Salk SongTowers since about 2010 and finally will be getting them this month!

I will be moving into a new apartment this summer, so don't yet know the layout of the room that they will be used in. I'm expecting to use them almost entirely for music, with occasional TV (2-3 hrs/week) and extremely occasional movies (maybe 1-2 movies/month).

I'm a pretty big newb and currently listen to music almost entirely streaming from Spotify.

To start with, I'd like to get good value equipment (i.e. on par with the SongTowers) for streaming music.

Some stuff that I was considering:
1. AVA Set 120 Control Amplifier ($1300) https://avahifi.com/collections/power-amplifiers/products/set-120-control-amplifier
Is this a good choice? Any other suggestions?

2. Google Chromecast Audio ($50)
Will I be losing much quality with this? Should I get an amp with a DAC built in?

3. HiFi streaming service (at least until Spotify introduces its own)

4. Cables

Later on, what do you suggest considering? Some ideas:

1. A center speaker: Maybe not that useful if I'm so rarely watching movies?

2. A subwoofer: I'll likely be living in an apartment building with units underneath, so perhaps not that necessary and not that neighbor-friendly?

3. 2 surround speakers: Same as for center speaker?

4. Phono preamp: I currently have no records of my own (though parents do), so seems like something that can wait, unless this could be included in some amps?

5. Turntable: Same as for phono preamp

ski2xblack

ski2xblack

Audioholic Field Marshall
1. AVA Set 120 Control Amplifier ($1300) https://avahifi.com/collections/power-amplifiers/products/set-120-control-amplifier